What is Lactose or Dairy Free at Starbucks

Mar 18th
Startbucks Soy Chai Latte

I’m a big fan of Starbucks, mainly for milky frothy sugary drinks and not so much their actual coffee (although the instant they do is pretty good) I struggle to know what is dairy free there and what isn’t and it really isn’t labelled well. You should also know that just ordering a Soy version of a standard drink will not necessarily make it lactose or dairy free. Syrups like pumpkin spice, egg nog, caramel drizzle etc all have milk in them – with no warning and labels. So after looking around the web here is a list of dairy or lactose free drinks at Starbucks

Starbucks vanilla frappuccino and NY cheese cake

Starbucks vanilla frappuccino and NY cheese cake (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I think we can all agree that worst part of this whole thing is that the Pumpkin Spiced Latte has lactose in it :(. For the best drink ever though – ask for Soy Chai latte with a shot of pumpkin spice syrup. It is AMAZING! (Just take a lactase pill or 2)

Note – All syrups are dairy free, they are just sugar and flavour.
We’ve added this quote from A redditor called k2d who updated me to let me know

all syrups (simple syrups used to flavor beverages, as opposed to sauces, which are thicker bev flavors, or drizzles, which are what go on top of drinks) are dairy-free. So not just Vanilla, Hazelnut, Caramel, Peppermint, Raspberry, Toffee Nut, but also Cinnamon Dolce, Classic (which is just simple syrup, goes into sweet tea and coffee), Caramel Flan (if your store has it) and sugar-free (sucralose) versions of the italicised flavors (though SF peppermint is seasonal for whatever reason).

English: A picture I took of a Starbucks Venti...

English: A picture I took of a Starbucks Venti Mint Mocha Chip Frappuccino back when it was still around. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Also, white mocha sauce contains dairy, but caramel flan drizzle doesn’t list any dairy ingredients. I don’t know how that last one works out, since regular caramel drizzle does, but I noticed that a few weeks back. Cinnamon dolce powder contains dairy, too.

Contains Milk or Lactose
Java Chips (Milk)
Caramel Drizzle (Milk) Note: Caramel Syrup is vegan
Whipped Cream (Milk)
Pumpkin Spice Latte (Milk in Syrups)
Caramel Brulee Latte (Milk in Syrups)
Caramel & Hazelnut Macchiatos (Milk in Syrups)
Cinnamon Dolche with Topping (has milk)

No Dairy
Coffee (Regular and Iced)
Red Eye, Black Eye, Americano, Espresso (Regular or Iced)
VIA Instant Coffee
Tea (Regular and Iced)
Soy Milk
Syrups: Vanilla, Hazelnut, Caramel, Peppermint, Raspberry, Toffee

Make Your Drinks Lactose and Dairy Free
Ask for soy milk and no whipped cream)
Soy Cafe Latte
Soy Cappuccino
Soy Cinnamon Dolce with no cinnamon topping (milk)
Tea Lattes
Chai Tea (be aware this doesn’t apply to some other brands which do have milk powder)
Soy Gingerbread Latte
Soy Lattes with any of these syrups: Vanilla, Hazelnut, Caramel, Peppermint
Frappuccinos that can be Made Vegan (Ask for soy milk and no whipped cream)

Soy Green Tea Frappuccino
Soy Coconut/Mocha Coconut Frappuccino
Soy Coffee Frappuccino
Soy Caramel Frappuccino with no caramel drizzle (Milk)
Soy Mocha Frappuccino
Soy Strawberries and Cream Frappuccino
Other Drinks that are or can be made Vegan with Soy Milk

Soy Mocha with no Whipped Cream
Soy Hot Chocolate
Soy Steamer with any of these syrups: Vanilla, Hazelnut, Caramel, Peppermint
Very Berry and Cool Lime Refreshers
Apple Juice, Orange Juice

Thanks to tofusenshi for the starting point of this information who had a focus on vegan products.

Free Recipes and Tips to your index :)


  • NoMilkBarista

    Barista here, we are now testing out coconut milk at Starbucks! Check your area and find out!

    • ihateyoumilk

      Amazing, I wonder what that would taste like. I imagine it to be nicer in the fraps than in the coffees themselves.

  • MonkeyBusiness

    Just an FYI………eggnog is NOT a syrup!!! Starbucks uses actual dairy eggnog.

    • ihateyoumilk

      Good catch I totally missed that I’d included that, I’m amend it asap. I had that issue a few years back when I asked for the dairy free one and they told me the actual eggnog stuff they use has dairy in. Thanks!

  • Maria Polky

    I’m always confused about the drizzles. Some Starbucks tell me they are vegan (except for the caramel drizzle) and some say they all have milk in them. Are there some vegan drizzles? Like hazelnut?

    • ihateyoumilk

      I know, it varies I think, always best to double check.

  • cair

    what about the mocha syrup?

  • V.Tran

    It took me a long time to find a good combination to my favorite drink and that is 4 shots of espresso and 3 pumps of white mocha on ice in a venti cup. I like it strong. However, my stomach doesn’t do well with dairy products, even though I love them. Long story short, I need a replacement for that white mocha and would like to ask you experienced drinkers what is the best choice to replace that. Thank!