What is Lactose or Dairy Free at McDonalds

what-is-dairy-and-lactose-f

Everyone loves McDonalds. It brought burgers to everyone and made it cheap enough every day if you wanted to (but don’t!). However as a lactose intolerant, what can you eat? Wheres the hidden milk in their recipes and do their fries really have milk in? Lets take a look

McDonalds are a strange company, their recipes change in different regions. We’ve looked at the UK and US menu’s to give you the facts below. These seem to be the most stable recipes, if you know of any corrections and anything in your region, drop us a comment and let us know.

The main places to look are – check if the recipe has cheese and ask for no cheese. And see if the sauce has milk. Some of the McDonalds sauces have milk in some dont which can turn a burger unfriendly to lactose intolerants. Some of the buns also contain milk which is worth double checking. All stores should have an allergen menu if you ask. So

What is dairy and lactose free at McDonalds?

You can eat the following if you’re lactose intolerant or avoiding dairy.

From the mains.

  • Bigmac- No Cheese
  • Quaterpounder (no cheese)
  • Hamburger
  • Chicken McNuggets (none in ingredients but may fryer cross contamination)
  • Crispy Chicken Wrap
  • Chicken Selects
  • McChicken Select
  • Mayo Chicken
  • BBQ Chicken BLC (No Cheese)
  • Spicy Chicken Snack Wrap (No Cheese)
  • Vegetable Deluxe
  • Spicy Vegetable Deluxe
  • The hot peri peri chicken one (No Cheese)
  • The BBQ Chicken and Bacoe One
  • The sweet chilli chicken one
  • Burgers
  • Pork McRib
  • Sausage Patty
  • Scrambled eggs (US)
  • Fish Fingers

From the sides

  • Fries (in the UK not in the US)
  • Carrot Sticks
  • Hash Browns (in the UK not in the US)

The dairy and lactose free salads are McDonalds are

  • Grilled Chicken Bacon Salad

The dairy free and lactose free sauces at McDonalds are

  • Ketchup
  • BBQ
  • Sweet curry dip
  • sweet and sour dip
  • smokey bbq
  • balasamic
  • fajita
  • starwberry jam
  • pancake syrup
  • chipolte

The McDonalds Breakfasts which are dairy and lactose free are

  • Hash Browns (in the UK not in the US)
  • Toasted Bagel no cheese
  • Bacon and Egg bagel no cheese
  • Ask for no cheese and butter

Are McDonalds Fries Vegan? Do McDonalds Fries Contain Milk?

Yes and no. In the UK they have no Milk. In the US they have milk. In the UK they are just made from potatoes and vegetable oil. In the US they start with Beef Flavouring which uses milk as part of the flavour. You would need to check in your region what they use. It’s unclear if there is enough milk to cause a reaction but let me know if you’ve had a reaction to McDonalds fries milk before in the comments.

Lactose-and-Dairy-Free-McDo